Back to All Events

The Foxfires /\ Forget the Whale /\ Miss Ohio at FM

FM Presents:
The Foxfires /\ Forget The Whale /\ Miss Ohio
Friday, March 30th 9 PM FREE

about the bands
The Foxfires []

// S E A G A Z E //
The Foxfires are a four piece Seagaze band from New York. Their sound is derived from the genres of indie rock/pop, shoegaze, folk, and surf rock which sounds like a soundscape you'd want to hear on the beach or out at sea, especially in the Summer. Since 2013, they have been playing on stages, both small and large with artists such as Michale Graves (Former Misfits frontman), Kurt Travis (Former Dance Gavin Dance frontman), Sparks the Rescue, Have Mercy, Pentimento, Rookie of the Year, and just this past June, they played at Pittsburgh Pride alongside Jennifer Hudson. 2017 has been a very fortuitous and banner year for the band, working off of the momentum of their most recent release, "Reawakening" which came out in late 2016. The band has had their music licensed to NASCAR, Discovery Networks LLC (Discovery, Science Channel, Animal Planet, TLC, etc), MTV, Bring Your Own Board, and Roadtrip Nation in 2017 alone and their music has been featured on radio across the United States and in select parts of the UK. Some festivals and large events they have played in the past year have included Pittsburgh Pride, Newburgh Illuminated Festival, Jersey Shore Music Festival, The NYC Marathon, Northside Festival, Groove on Grove, ValleyFest, Haverstraw River Arts Fest, and the Millennium Music Conference (for which they were a featured artist on the event's compilation CD.) 2018 is shaping up to be The Foxfires biggest year, yet! The band just released two new singles titled, “Don’t Give Up” and “Choose Love.” The latter is a campaign and message the band have been pushing for 4 years to move towards a more empathetic, equal, and balanced future where we see past race, gender, religion, sexuality, or political party and to fully embrace all of humanity. “Don’t Give Up” is an anti-suicide song that the band have been adamant about putting out since the recent deaths of Chris Cornell and Chester Bennington. In addition, they will be returning to Millennium Music Conference again this February (once again, on the compilation CD), Singer Songwriter Conference in Cape May, NJ this March, and East Coast Music Conference in VA in May, with many many more dates yet to be announced! Stay tuned! 

Forget The Whale []

Forget the Whale, a four piece hailing primarily from the 6th Borough, America’s Golden Door, Jersey City, includes members Alishia Taiping (lead vocals, bass) Dan Pieraccini (bass, keys, vocals), Peter Durning (guitar, harmonica) and AJ Zienowicz (drums, vocals). It’s been said, of all the things Forget the Whale has, a ‘sound’ is not one of them. It’s not that they have no sound: blues, rock, alternative, R&B, country, funk and nu-metal all become ingredients for Forget the Whale’s veritable witches’ brew.

Miss Ohio []

"Whippoorwill Road", the fourth release by veteran New Jersey band Miss Ohio, is a fine-tuned calling card where songwriting is key and not a single note is wasted. The seeds for this new EP were sown back in 2008, after the band began a monthly residency at the Lakeside Lounge, which would go on for an astounding four-year run. 
WHen it came time to record a new record, the band went back to the Pigeon Club, which is run by Wayne Dorell; he recorded and produced "Low" (which Eric Ambel mixed), and he also recorded "Called and Raised", a digital only EP put out in 2012. 
The songs on the new EP reflect a newfound tightness and a more upbeat tone. Guitarists David Wilson and Ed Roessler weave chunks of rhythm, swirls of feedback, well-placed clusters of distortion, and leads that sometimes verge on psychedelic, with Pietro Lorino's driving bass and Brandon Loikits' fiery drumming to create melodies that blur the line between indie rock and power pop.